MATCH REPORT | Spain finish runner-up at WU17EURO

Pilsen (República Checa) 14 Mayo 2017
Héctor Rubio
Germany defeated Spain 3-1 on penalties to win the UEFA Women’s U17 Championship

The stunning Doosan Arena stadium hosted the game between Germany and Spain.

Toña Is' side looked somewhat the brighter side in the first half. In fact, in their first sortie into German territory, Spain went close to breaking the deadlock. However, Claudia Pina's shot was well saved by Stina Johannes.

Anouschka Bernhard's squad tried to make a reaction and for a spell, they were able to build some attacks inside the spanish half, but without really troubling the away side, who were still moving the ball around patiently.

Despite a catalogue of chances, the first 45 minutes ended goalless.

The second period began in lightning fashion as Spain roared out of the blocks, with Claudia Pina again coming close to an opener. The pressing of the forwards and midfield was much more evident as they refused to give Germany any time on the ball, harrying them at every opportunity. 

Nerea Eizaguirre’s excellent work in doing just that saw her presented with another opportunity to break the deadlock.

The 90 minutes ended goalless despite being a lively, intense affair.

Kössler's successful spot-kick saw Germany beat Spain 3-1 on penalties.

PHOTO: Paul Murphy / UEFA

ONCE INICIAL: Stina Johannes, Anna Hausdorff, Lea Bahnemann, Andrea Brunner, Verena Wieder, Sjoeke Nusken, Lena Oberdorf, Nicole Anyomi, Maren Marie Tellenbroker, Melissa Kossler y Lena Uebach (Gianna Rackow 62')

ENTRENADORA: Anouschka Bernhard
ONCE INICIAL: Catalina Coll, Oihane Hernández (Carla Bautista 83'), Berta Pujadas, Laia Aleixandri, Anna Torrodà, Rosa Otermin, Claudia Pina, Candela Andújar, Teresa Abelleira (Nerea Eizaguirre 46'), Rosa Márquez (Lorena Navarro 75') y Eva María Navarro.

Julia-Stefanie Baier (AUT)
Alexandra Theodora Apostu (ROU)
Ieva Ramanauskiene (LTU)
​Meliz Özçiğdem (TUR)

Amonestaron con tarjeta amarilla por el equipo alemán a Andrea Brunner, Lea Bahnemann y por España a Rosa Otermin.
Final del Campeonato de Europa Sub-17 de la República Checa
Plzeň City Stadium (Pilsen, República Checa)
Ha presenciado el partido en el palco de honor D. Jacinto A. Alonso Marañón, presidente de la Federación Riojana de Fútbol